Perfect Marriage, And Home, Or Is It? What’s Behind Closed Doors?

Title: Behind Closed Doors
Author: B.A Paris
Publishing House: St. Martin’s Press
Published On: August 9, 2016
Goodreads Rating: 3.93/5
My Rating: 3.5/5
Trigger Warnings: Mentions of Abuse, Starving, and mental health


Plot
Grace lives in London taking care of her sister Millie, a person with a disability. Millie goes to a school in London while Grace and her husband Jack live in a elegant house together as newlyweds. Grace, and her husband Jack are inseparable, and some say they have a beautiful home, marriage, and an idealistic life. When people would like to know Grace more they realize Jack is always there. Some may call it true love, but is it really what it seems? Why are there bars on the bedroom window? Why is Grace incredibly slim, yet cook elaborate meals during dinner parties? And why does the couple always cancel on plans last minute? 


My Thoughts
My first initial thought was this novel is totally going to be a captivating thriller, and story. But when I completed the novel, I didn’t feel a rush of adrenaline towards the end of the book when Grace getting her revenge. (Not spoiling, I swear). Personally, I wasn’t fully satisfied with the ending scene with Grace and Jack. I expected more anticipation with me nail biting, and yelling angrily at times than I already did. Overall, I expected Jack to be more manipulative, and twisted then he came to be. However I did like the mild unpredictable, yet predictable ending! What my favorite part of the novel was the lovable character Millie, Grace’s sister who’s a with person with a disability. She is an incredibly intelligent, and utterly humorous person I love! I also loved the well descriptive writing that was incredibly vivid. I really put myself in Grace’s shoes. B.A Paris also has her new upcoming novel, ‘The Breakdown’ newly released. I can’t wait to see if I will be more impressed, and somehow I’ll the sequel more. 

I DON’T recommend ‘Behind Closed Doors’ to people who are triggered or uncomfortable with topics such as abuse, mild mental health mockery, and starving scenes. 
I hope you enjoyed this review! Let me know if you want me to read, and review more books! Feel free to comment and like! 


Have a Majestic day!

Follow my Social Medias

🐀 Twitter: @ReadingWithLori 🐀

πŸ“Έ Instagram: @Majesticreading πŸ“Έ

πŸ’Œ Email: Majesticreading@gmail.com πŸ’Œ

– LoriπŸ¦„βœ¨

2 thoughts on “Perfect Marriage, And Home, Or Is It? What’s Behind Closed Doors?

Add yours

  1. I’m sorry if I’m leaving this comment again, it doesn’t look like it went through. I really enjoyed this book, but I’ve read and reviewed (I never post spoilers) and I enjoyed her new book more. πŸ™‚ Great Review!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑

